Daily Prompt – Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

It is admittedly difficult to sound one’s own trumpet.  We’re taught from our earliest days not to talk about ourselves all the time, we’re taught not to brag about what we do or what we have because it might hurt someone else’s feelings.  In the end, we are told, we’ll have no friends because nobody likes being around someone who is self-absorbed.

I think my favorite thing about myself is my loyalty.  If I were friends with me, I’d value that trait like mad.  It’s a long journey to “friendship” but once we’re friends, we’re solid.  It would take a big event to cause us to “break up.”  Example: If we hadn’t seen each other in 4 years and the first thing you do when we get together is insult my hair, call up your stoner friends (who I don’t know) to hang out right away, generally treat me like I don’t matter, then abuse me when I attempt to take my leave (as I am clearly in your way)—then we’re not friends anymore.

I also really like my feet.  Seriously, if I took better care of them with regular pedicures, I could be a foot model.  My toes are not weird and joint-y, they’re all in a very nice descending height line. The nails are well-shaped and have healthy color.  My arch is defined and graceful, and when I point my toes, the look is strong and sleek.   Maybe that’s how I can make a little extra income.  Feet.

One response to this post.

  1. Interesting post. It’s entirely too easy for me to trash myself. I think I have two really solid good points. One, I’m disciplined. As a freelance writer I have to get the job done and get it done on time. This carries over into my fiction. Two, I’m learning how to transform drama into comedy. The older I get, the easier it becomes to morph the awful, frustrating, anger-provoking experience into comedy. Much better stories for my friends!

    Reply

Have A Thought? Let's Hear It!

